Campaigns start for SA executive positions

By Tammy Sholer

Candidates will begin campaigning this week for the positions of Student Association president, vice president and treasurer in preparation for the SA Executive Elections March 25 and 26.

The presidential candidates are Phil Chihoski, Michael Murvihill and incumbent Jim Fischer. The vice presidential candidates are James Collins and Cameron Davis. Students running for treasurer are Roger Beith, Todd Lipscomb and Michael Stumpf.

The candidates had to receive 200 student signatures on petitions which were due Monday in order for their name to appear on the ballot, said Michele Begovich, former SA vice president. The signatures could have been from either on or off campus because the SA executives represent all students, not just one district, she said.

If a student missed the deadline for turning in petitions, he still can be placed on the ballot as a written-in candidate, Begovich said.

Presently, there are two polling places for next week’s election located in the Holmes Student Center near Roy Rogers Cafeteria and DuSable Hall, said SA Vice President Peter Dirks. Dirks said he is trying to have a third polling place in the NIU library as well. All polling places will be open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

An informational candidate meeting was held last night in the SA office to inform the candidates of the rules and guidelines of the election, Dirks said. In addition, a debate between the candidates is scheduled for Thursday at 8:30 p.m. in Douglas Halls’ C-D cafeteria, said Davis, SA public relations adviser.