SA Senate OK’s 3 directors

By Ashley Morse

The three vacant Student Association director positions were filled at Sunday’s SA Senate meeting.

The senate approved eight director positions at its April 26 meeting, after the Senate denied the appointment of two candidates and one position lacked an appointment.

Director positions

Timi Adeboje, senior management technology major, was appointed director of Academic Affairs by the newly-elected SA President Nathan Lupstein as the position was left vacant with no appointee at the last SA Senate meeting.

Adeboje was recently elected as president of the Black Student Union on Tuesday. One of Adeboje’s goals for next year is to create a fact sheet for PLUS, a revision of undergraduate studies requirements set to take effect this fall. The senate confirmed Adeboje’s appointment with a 20-9 vote.

Public law major Alyssa Dunbar said her goals for the position of director of Advertising were to open advertising on the Huskie Pups, electric vehicles designed to transport students across campus, to the community and businesses. Dunbar said she wants to increase advertising during the summer for orientation to get more students involved. The senate confirmed Dunbar’s appointment with a 20-9 vote.

Lupstein withdrew his support for Jaclyn Keith, who was not approved as director of Greek Affairs by the Senate at its April 26 meeting; however, the SA Senate did not want the position vacant for the summer, said SA Deputy Speaker Robert Kreml. SA Senator Alexus Lentz was approved by the Senate for this position, but will still need the approval of Lupstein to be confirmed.

Election bylaw changes

The Senate approved both new and revised bylaws for elections regarding polling stations and identification.

Kreml authored a bill that would no longer require a person to have a OneCard to vote, since elections are now exclusively online through HuskieLink. Students are required to enter their Z-ID and password to access voting.

The Recreation Center has been removed as a polling place because of low voter turnout at the center, said SA Senate Speaker Dillon Domke. The New Hall Community Center will replace the Rec because of the amount of traffic there, Domke said.

In addition to New Hall, the Nursing Building, the Music Building and LaTourette Hall are now polling stations.