NIU Athletics releases 2019 Hall of Fame class

The Northern Illinois University Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2019 was released Monday by NIU Athletics. The 2019 class features Kristina Campos (Gymnastics, 2002-05), Larry English (Football, 2004-08), Ashley Morrow (Track and Field, 2004-07), Jerry Pettibone (Football Head Coach, 1985-90), Stephanie Raymond (Women's Basketball, 2003-07), Allison Wade Shepherd (Women's Soccer, 1996-97) and the 1990-1991 men's basketball team.

The induction ceremony will take place Friday, October 25 during NIU’s 113th Homecoming celebration. Information on tickets to the event will be made available at a later date according to NIU Athletics.

Campos is a four-time NCAA regional participant, including a 10th place in the 2003 regional. She won Mid-American Conference Gymnast of the Year in that same year.

Campos holds the record for all-around score, including four out of five of NIU’s highest marks after her NIU career ended. She is also tied for the school record on the balance beam.

English, who was a defensive end at NIU, was a two-time MAC Most Valuable Player in 2007 and 2008, and is the only non-quarterback to win the award multiple times. He also received three First Team All-MAC honors. English still holds NIU’s records for most career sacks (31.5) and career tackles for a loss (63).

In 2009 he went on to become the school’s highest selected player in the NFL Draft at 16th by the San Diego Chargers, whom he would play for five seasons. He finished his NFL career in 2014 with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. He posted 103 tackles and 12 sacks in 64 career games.

Morrow is a four-time NCAA Regional Qualifier, including an appearance in the 2007 NCAA Championships in shot put. She holds NIU’s records for shot put and the hammer throw.

At the 2005 MAC Championships Morrow set the school record for the hammer with a throw of 54.28 meters. In 2006 she won the MAC Championship for shot put with a school record mark of 15.59 meters. In 2007 she finished fourth at the NCAA Regional in shot put, and then went on to place 27th at the NCAA Championships.

Pettibone coached the Huskies to 33 wins in his six seasons with the team, including a 9-2 season in 1989. During his tenure, seven Huskies were selected in the NFL Draft.

In 1988 he led NIU to its first-ever victory against a Big Ten school with a win over Wisconsin. In 1990, he led the team to its first win against a nationally-ranked opponent by blowing out 24th-ranked Fresno State by a score of 73-18. The Huskies led the nation is rushing that same year.

Raymond is a two-time All MAC recipient who helped lead the Huskies to 19 wins and an appearance in the MAC Tournament Semifinals during the 2006-07 season. She is ranked sixth in career points, second in career steals and third in career assists at NIU. She is also the leader career free throw percentage.

After leaving NIU, she became the first Huskie selected in the WNBA Draft at 20th overall by the Chicago Sky. She played in 20 games for the Sky before finishing her pro career overseas.

Wade is a former MAC Player of the Year and First Team All-MAC recipient. She also earned First Team All-Midwestern Collegiate Conference honors and the 1996 MCC Newcomer of the Year.

In 1996 she set then-school records with 12 goals and 28 points. In 1997 she improved upon the previous year’s totals with 19 goals and 45 points, which remain school records. She led the Huskies to a 12-8-1 season in 1997, including 6-1 in MAC play. That same year she scored two goals, including the game winner, in the MAC Championship against Eastern Michigan.

The 1990-91 men’s basketball team, led by MCC Coach of the Year Jim Molinari, won a school record 25 games, including an 11-game win streak which is tied for the school record. They finished 14-2 in conference play.

Even though they lost to Green Bay in the conference final, they still received an invitation to the NCAA Tournament. They were seeded 13th and lost to St. John’s in the first round.

Members of the team include Stacy Arrington, Brian Banks, Randy Fens, Antwon Harmon, Mike Hidden, Mark Layton, Mike Lipnisky, David Mitchell, Brian Molis, Steve Oldendorf, Donnell Thomas, Andrew Wells, Donald Whiteside, head coach Jim Molinari, assistant coaches Rob Judson, DeWayne Kelly and Pat Donahue and graduate assistant Phil Leib.

More Sports Stories

  • Updated

DeKALB — After the football team lost the Mallory Cup last season in its inaugural game, the Huskies hope to win the trophy Saturday against the Miami University – Ohio RedHawks. The Mallory Cup honors the late Bill Mallory, who led NIU to its first Mid-American Conference Championship in 19…

top story
  • Updated

DeKALB —While women’s soccer didn’t get the win, it made sure Miami University – Ohio didn’t leave DeKalb on Sunday with one either. The game ended in double overtime at 1-1 at the Soccer and Track and Field Complex.