Lifestyle’s weekly Spotify playlist #56

Weekly Spotify playlist: 

Daija’s picks

  1. Fleetwood Mac – “Never Going Back Again”
  2. Miley Cyrus – “Slide Away”
  3. Bon Iver – “We”

“Never Going Back Again” is off Fleetwood Mac’s third album “Rumours” which features other hits such as “Dreams” and “The Chain.” Fleetwood Mac doesn’t shy away from discussing the band’s personal conflicts in their songs, and this one is no different. There aren’t a ton of lyrics, mostly instrumental with a funky but cool guitar sound, but Lindsey Buckingham is still able to make a point of finding love again after separating from Stevie Nicks.

Miley Cyrus had a public and on-and-off relationship with actor Liam Hemsworth for years, which everyone seemed to adore. But after their divorce in 2019, Miley released “Slide Away,” which is her perspective of the split. The lyric that sticks out to me the most is: “move on we’re not seventeen. I’m not who I used to be,” showing that they met when she was a teenager and now, as an adult, she’s realizing she doesn’t want that life anymore.

If you’re like me, over summer and ready for fall, then Bon Iver is great to listen to as we transition to the colder months ahead. Bon Iver is known for their polarizing but soft sounds and complex lyrics; but, “We” is a bit different. While the song is short, it is packed with an aggressive instrumental and a story about frustration with today’s politics. 

Laqes’s Picks

  1. Kygo, Miguel – “Remind Me To Forget”
  2. A Great Big World – “Say Something”
  3. Rihanna – “Love On The Brain” 

“Remind Me To Forget” by Kygo & Miguel was released in 2017 on the album “Kids in Love.” The song is about a powerful love that is impossible to forget or symbolizes the scars left over from a toxic relationship. 

“Say Something” by A Great Big World was released in 2014 on the album “Is There Anybody Out There?” The song was written by Ian Axel, Chad King and Mike Campbell. The ballad sparked the attention of Christina Aguilera after Amy Yakima used it on the dance competition show “So You Think You Can Dance.” This song is about a lover that remains silent throughout a breakup while the other lover wants them to say something or else they are going to give up on them.  

“Love On The Brain” by Rihanna was released in 2016 on the album “ANTI.” The song was written by Rihanna with the help of Roc Nation’s Fred Ball and J Angel. The song lyrics are referencing a physically unstable relationship. The song also refers to the abuse Rihanna dealt with when she was with Chris Brown.