SA Senate votes to appoint spring Board of Elections

By Kierra Frazier

DeKALB — The Student Association Senate voted to appoint members to the Board of Elections and select a chairperson for the 2019 Elections during its Sunday meeting.

SA elections are held every spring to elect students to the executive branch as the president, vice president, student trustee or treasurer.

Sandra Puebla was appointed Board of Elections chairperson, meaning she will oversee the election process.

Senator Michael Kane, Speaker of the Senate Tristan Martin, Public Affairs Chairperson Antonio Johnson and Senator Ryan Carmody were also appointed to the Board of Elections.

Puebla has worked for nearly two years as a senator and has served on all three branches of the SA. She said running for vice president in the last election has made her familiar with the election process and a suitable fit for the position.

“The reason I want to run for chairperson is because I want to make sure this is a smooth election with a large voter turnout,” Puebla said. “I want to make sure every single candidate is aware of the rules and everyone is treated equally.”

Along with the Board of Elections, the SA also voted Kane the new historian, meaning he will help record and preserve historical records of the senate.

Kane has been involved in policy reform in the past and said he plans to make use of the new position, which wasn’t used a few years ago.

“I think the previous historian did a lot of great work,” Kane said. “I tend to carry forward what one’s work completed through SA’s 50th anniversary planning committee.”