Huskies set record as 8 players named to All-MAC First Team


Junior wide receiver Aregeros Turner searches for a hole in last Tuesday’s game against Ohio. The Huskies went on to lose the game 26-21.

By Christopher Loggins

Football had a school-record eight members of its team make it to the 2015 All Mid-American Conference First Team on Wednesday.

The players named on the team included senior linebacker Boomer Mays, senior defensive end Perez Ford, sophomore kicker Christian Hagan, junior running back Joel Bouagnon, sophomore cornerback Shawun Lurry, junior wide receiver Aregeros Turner and offensive linemen Aidan Conlon and Andrew Ness.

Turner, who spent most of the year as a kickoff returner, was also named the MAC Special Teams Player of the Year after returning 37 kicks for 948 yards and a touchdown.

Junior wide receiver Kenny Golladay and offensive tackle Levon Myers made the All MAC Second Team. Golladay caught 70 passes for 1,107 yards and 10 touchdowns this year. Senior safety Marlon Moore was named to the Third Team.

“It’s great to have eight guys on the first team and 11 overall selected as All-MAC players this year,” said head coach Rod Carey, according to an NIU Athletics news release. “We’re very proud of our entire team, and these guys would be the first to say that they couldn’t get there without their teammates.”

The Huskies will participate in the MAC Championship against Bowling Green, who had five players on the First Team and 11 players on All-MAC teams overall, at 7 p.m. Friday in Detroit and on ESPN2. The Huskies can claim their second championship in a row with a win.