New positions elected at SA meeting


Senator Pooler remarks about remarkably low voter turnout for Student Association elections at the Student Association meeting in the Sky Room of the Holmes Student Center on Saturday night.

By Kevin Steiger

The Student Association (SA) met on Sunday to discuss senator involvement and to elect members into board and director positions.

Senators Mathew Wellington, Brandon Phillips, Patrick Birk, Anthony Sarna, and Michael Theodore were elected in by senate vote into the Board of Elections. Theodore was elected chair of the Board. Phillips was also recognized by SA Senate Speaker James Zanayed for his contributions to the SA Senate.

“The main purpose of the Board of Elections is to assist the commissioner,” said Theodore. “We are the ones making sure that the candidates are fallowing the rules.”

Susan Richard was elected into office as the new director of academic affairs. She was previously the director of Greek affairs.

Dillon Domke, chair of the athletic and student involvement committee, selected James Alford as vice chairman and Kaliah Smith as secretary.

The position of director of culture and Greek affairs will be combined into one position. This was approved by SA President Delonte LeFlore.

Philip Nanni was elected as senator at large.

“We need more SA senators to be involved with event on campus,” LeFlore said.

Zanayed said that he spoke with Athletics Director Jeff Compher to organize a tour of the Convocation Center before the basketball game against Kent state on Wednesday. During the tour, the SA Senate will learn about the basketball team’s history, according to Zanayed. Also, there will be a section in the stadium reserved just for SA Senate members.

Senators of the SA will have the opportunity to apply for a study abroad scholarship. SA Vice President Gina Gregolunas will form a committee to decide the recipient of this award.