SGA appoints new University Housing representative

In addition, the SGA appointed its board of elections and election commissioner.


Sean Reed

The entrance to the Housing and Residential Services sits empty over the weekend in Neptune East. Emmanuel Corpuz has been appointed to the Student Government Association Senate, representing University Housing at NIU. (Sean Reed | Northern Star)

By Evan Mellon, News Reporter

The Student Government Association confirmed Emmanuel Corpuz, a junior mechatronics engineering major, to the Senate. Corpuz will represent University Housing.

“As a current Neptune resident, I am not blind to these issues we face on campus,” Corpuz said. “We know that housing is not perfect on any college campus. My goal is to get it as close to perfection as I possibly can, where students can feel comfortable, safe and can build their own sense of community during their stay.”

The SGA also appointed its board of elections members, who will prepare the election that will determine the fall semester’s SGA Senate.

The members of the newly appointed board of elections consist of Speaker of the Senate Dallas Douglass, former Vice President James Holmes, Historian Atlas Babcock and Senator Kolawole David Somade. Senators Aidan O’Brien and Jacob Jovanovich are alternatives on the board of elections.

Chairperson Quinn Olson was appointed to the position of board of elections chairperson, which is responsible for leading the board of elections during meetings and handling appeals during the election cycle.

According to the SGA bylaws, the board of elections has the responsibility of promoting awareness of the upcoming elections to the student body, as well as assisting the election commissioner with their tasks.

The spring elections, which will determine the members of the SGA in the fall semester, will take place on March 28 and March 29.

SGA meetings are open to the public and held at 2 p.m. on Fridays, with locations posted in the senate’s agendas. SGA minutes and intent to speak forms are available on Huskie Hub.

CORRECTION: Commissioner and chairperson were used interchangeably, however they are two separate positions. Olson is the chairperson, not the commissioner.