President Peters honored by Chamber of Commerce

By Brooke Shinberg

NIU President John Peters was awarded a 2013 Community Pride Award from the Chamber of Commerce, according to a Wednesday news release from the Chamber.

The Chamber of Commerce also inducted Frank Roberts and Jerry Smith into its Hall of Fame.

Roberts is an executive vice president at Castle Bank and is also the president of Re:New DeKalb. He is on the boards and committees for organizations like the Kishwaukee College Foundation, Chamber of Commerce, DeKalb School District, Cornerstone Christian Academy and the Jacob Haish Foundation.

Smith is currently retired after a 30-year career with Castle-Prin Tech. He also spent about 10 years with the DeKalb County Community Foundation. The organizations Smith has been involved most with are the Kishwaukee Kiwanis, DeKalb United Way and the Chamber of Commerce. He was the vice chair of the Kishwaukee Community Hospital Board.

Peters’ award is given in special recognition for an individual who has achieved a significant landmark, offered his or her full resources when the community was in need or when circumstances have presented themselves, according to the Chamber of Commerce.

The chamber also recognized organizations and members who excelled in the past year. The Lincoln Inn, 240 E. Lincoln Highway, won the Business of the Year award. It won against the other nominees, Balcom-Vetillo Design, 529 E. Locust St., Bockman’s Auto Care, 2158 Oakland Drive in Sycamore, and Fatty’s Pub and Grille, 1312 W. Lincoln Highway.

Jackie DiNatale was named 2012 Ambassador of the year by the Chamber. Carme Gregory was recognized for 40 years of service as a Chamber Ambassador.

Also announced at the meeting was the 2013 executive committee and the Chamber’s new board members. The executive committee for 2013 will consist of Mark Smirz, Steve Braser, Kristina Garcia, Kim Goyke, Wendy West-Krauch, Mark Kerman, Keith Foster and Matt Duffy. The new board members are DJ Larson, Dave Yanke and David Galica, according to the Chamber of Commerce.