Northern Star wins 15 awards, honorable mentions at Illinois Conference

By Haley Galvin

DeKALB The Northern Star won 11 awards and four honorable mentions at the 2020 Illinois Collegiate Press Association Awards Saturday.

In the 2020 contest, 24 schools entered and there were a total of 896 entries across all categories, according to the awards presentation. 

In the column category, the Star won both first and second place. Senior reporter James Krause’s column was second and Editor in Chief Haley Galvin won first place.

Former reporter and columnist Mike Knapp won third place for a sports game story and second place for a sports column.

Former managing editor Noah Thornburgh won first place in the in-depth reporting category. 

Photo Editor Patrick Murphy won a total of five awards: third place in the multimedia reporting, sports photo and photo essay categories; first place in the feature photo section, and second place in the general news photo category.

Murphy also received honorable mention in the feature photo category.

Other honorable mentions went to former editor in chief Sam Malone for front page layout, former cartoonist Riley Oberg for a cartoon strip or panel and Krause for a sports feature story.

Knapp and Krause also won third place in the podcast category.