Northern Star

Community honors Feb. 14, 2008, victims with moment of silence

Kaitlyn King (left) and Joe Palmer, recipients of the 2014 Forward, Together Forward Scholarship, lay flowers by Gayle Dubowski’s memorial stone at a ceremony Saturday. The ceremony honored those lost when gunman Steven Kazmierczak killed five students before killing himself on Feb. 14, 2008, in Cole Hall. The scholarship is given to students who best embody the qualities of the shooting victims.

Kelly Bauer

February 16, 2015

The families of the Feb. 14, 2008, shooting victims were accompanied by friends and community members at a quiet remembrance ceremony Saturday.At 3:06 p.m., they listened as NIU’s bell chimed five times. They looked at each name — Gayle Dubowski, Catalina Garcia, Julianna Gehant, Ryanne Mace and D...