Faculty nominate president candidates

By Jackie Nevarez

Faculty nominated four Faculty Senate members to run for the Senate’s presidency in the 2015-2016 academic year.


Therese Arado, a member of the Elections and Legislative Oversight Committee, asked the Faculty Senate to nominate faculty members for next year’s Faculty Senate president. The Faculty Senate president presides over the Senate and acts as the executive secretary for University Council.

Faculty Senate President Bill Pitney, biological sciences professor Virginia Naples, history associate professor Eric Mogren and Greg Long, health and human sciences professor, were nominated. Nominees must turn in a letter of acceptance by March 13 and candidates will be finalized by the Senate’s March 25 meeting. The election will take place at the Senate’s April 22 meeting.


Economics associate professor George Slotsve was nominated and voted as the recipient of the Bob Lane Faculty Advocacy Award.

The award is given to the faculty member who shows exceptional service to the faculty. Pitney said he nominated Slotsve because of his “diligence” and active participation in and outside of meetings.

Slotsve will be honored at the March 25 meeting.