22nd annual ATHENA award recipients named Tuesday night

By Dan Martynowicz

In a room filled with some of the most accomplished individuals in the area, the city honored women who live and work around DeKalb with the 22nd Annual ATHENA Award Tuesday night.

Jane Levinsky was this year’s recipient of the ATHENA Award.

According to a press release, the 2011 ATHENA Award recognizes individuals for business and professional accomplishment, community service and “for serving as a role model to encourage women to reach their full leadership potential.”

Levinsky is a DeKalb County entrepreneur and business woman. Levinsky owned Studio One Salon and Day Spa for nearly 35 years. She dedicates time to community service events like Ladies Night Out in Sycamore, Safe Passage and Hope Haven.

The Women/Men of Accomplishment recognizes retired individuals with similar traits. The 22nd annual award was dedicated to Patricia LaVigne, a deceased ATHENA recipient.

Individuals are nominated by community members’ letters of support.

“(Recipients) embody personal and professional strength, courage, wisdom and actively assist women in life by serving directly as a role model,” said Margo Sutorius, Children Home and Aid’s Healthy Families Illinois supervisor, NIU instructor and 2009 ATHENA award recipient.

According to a press release, the other 2011 ATHENA award nominees were Debbie Armstrong, Evelina Cichy, Shelly Johnson and Debbie Kerman.