Spring elections draw near Small voter turnout expected

By Jennifer McCabe

DeKalb County traditionally has experienced a rather small voter turnout for the spring elections. For this election, the Clerk’s office expects a 35 to 40 percent voter turnout.

DeKalb County Clerk Sharon Holmes said DeKalb County has 40,000 people registered to vote in the April 22 election.

According to Holmes, low voter turnout is the result of voter apathy. She said many voters do not care about the election or who is running so they don’t vote.

However, in the upcoming election, Holmes said a high turnout is expected because there are important office elections at stake.

The positions open for election in DeKalb are mayor, city clerk and alderman in wards two, four and six.

Running for mayor are incumbent Greg Sparrow and 2nd Ward Alderman Michael Welsh.

Incumbent Marguerite Hoyt is the only candidate running for

DeKalb city clerk.

Aldermanic candidates in the 2nd ward are Donna S. Johnson, Burdette W. Rainwater and William T. Froom.

The 4th Ward Aldermanic candidates are incumbent Rita Tewksbury and Laurel J. Roff.

The 6th Ward Aldermanic candidates are Brad Strauss, Robbie L. Arrington and Kevin “K.O.” Johnson.

Positions for DeKalb Township government include supervisor, assessor, highway commissioner, clerk and trustee.

The candidates running for these positions are incumbent Patricia LaVigne for supervisor, incumbent John Hietikko for assessor, incumbent John Huber for highway commissioner and Robert Carlson for clerk. The candidates for the four positions of trustee are incumbents Ellen Barker, Doralee Crews and John O’Meara. Two additional candidates are Kay Phillips and Don Merwin.

The deadline for voter registration for the April 22 elections was March 22. Information regarding the location of polling places can be obtained through the city clerk’s office.