SA Senate focuses on upcoming elections

By Matt Gronlund

The Student Association focused on the issues of the upcoming SA executive elections at Sunday night’s meeting.

Candidates for the SA executive elections have been announced. Presidential candidates are Sen. Abram Andrzejewski, Sen. Eric Grice and current SA President Paul Middleton.

Vice presidential candidates are SA Public Relations Adviser Anna Bicanic and Sen. David Gonzalez. The sole candidate for treasurer is Virginia Welch.

Elections will be held on March 30 and 31.

Getting a jump on the rest of the candidates and breaking campaign rules by campaigning a day early, Andrzejewski announced his candidacy and outlined his campaign platform to the senate.

It is unclear if action will be taken against Andrzejewski because Election Commissioner Laura Niesman was not in attendance.

Andrzejewski said, “We’re going to get things done.” He said he wants to concentrate on communication, representation at the state and national level and taking a proactive stance on a number of campus issues including racism on campus and the publishing of teacher evaluations. Andrzejewski also announced Gonzalez as his running mate.

Sen. Jim O’Shea will act as public relations adviser on all issues pertaining to the elections to alleviate any conflicts, since vice-presidential candidate Bicanic is the SA public relations adviser.

SA Vice President Anastasia Criscione said an elections debate is slated for the middle of next week. The debate will start with a question and answer session mediated by Niesman. Questions will be selected from a pool submitted by the senate. The debate will be open to all students.

In other SA news, two vacant adviser positions were filled this week. Sen. Curry Kimble was approved as Campus Welfare Adviser and Sen. Joe Delfin was approved as Recreation Adviser. Both stepped down from their senate positions to fill the openings.

Also, David Marquez, a sophomore history major, was approved as a new senator. Marquez’s approval increased the senate total to 29.