Lifestyle’s weekly Spotify playlist #57

Weekly Spotify playlist:

Daija’s picks

  1. John Mark Pantana – “On Your Mind”
  2. Phoebe Bridgers – “Waiting Room”
  3. Lizzy McAlpine – “doomsday”

“On Your Mind” was released in 2019 on Pantana’s album “Love Secrets.” Pantana is described as a Christian-indie musician, which is different for me, as I don’t listen to much Christian music. This song is different, though, as Pantana doesn’t explicitly explain his beliefs; it is much more subtle as he explains getting high, drinking and feeling shameful but knowing that he is always on God’s mind. It’s a beautiful song because it can describe anything from Christianity to love.

Bridgers’ “Waiting Room” is a song she wrote when she was 16 years old, but it holds the raw emotional storytelling of someone much older, showing her songwriting abilities. She describes being so infatuated with someone that “If you were a waiting room, I would never see a doctor. I would sit there with my first aid kit and bleed.” The song has a simple guitar instrumental, but the lyrics are the main force of this song. Bridgers closes out the song repeating the line “know it’s for the better,” acknowledging that the relationship will never happen and it would be unhealthy if it did.

In “doomsday,” McAlpine describes ignoring all the red flags in a previous relationship and not knowing that all along they were headed for doom from the very beginning. The single has a unique drum instrumental that adds to the frustration McAlpine is experiencing as she reflects on the relationship. This relationship was the metaphorical death of her; but now that it’s over, she’s as free as ever. 

Laqes’s picks

  1. Fergie – “Clumsy”
  2. Timbaland feat. OneRepublic – “Apologize”
  3. Black Eyed Peas – “Meet Me Halfway”

“Clumsy” by Fergie was released in 2006 on the album “The Dutchess” and became the Top 10 on the Billboard Hot 100. This song is about being clumsy around a crush while constantly ending up in an embarrassing situation because you like them so much. 

“Apologize” by Timbaland featuring OneRepublic was released in 2007 on the album “Shock Value.” The group won a Grammy Award for Best Pop Performance and hit 50 on the Billboard Hot 100 All-Time Top songs. This song is about a person moving on from a painful breakup and telling their partner that it is too late to apologize. 

“Meet Me Halfway” by Black Eyed Peas was released in 2009 on the album “The E.N.D.” This song made it to the top 10 on the US Billboard Hot 100. This song is about a relationship that got into an argument, so they took a break from each other to relieve the tension. During their break, they hoped for the other to meet halfway to break the distance.